Off Topic A place to boldly go off topic. just about anything goes.
View Poll Results: A poll
All the time
8.33%
Most of the time
8.33%
Only on long rides
33.33%
Never
50.00%
Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll

Do you wear ear plugs?

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2005, 12:59 AM
Default Do you wear ear plugs?

I haven't worn any riding yet... But I'm also new to riding and have been trying to be good breaking in my bike (950miles already!!! Almost there!), so I haven't been doing much high-speed freeway driving for any decent lengths, or running into the high revs. I have noticed quite a bit of wind noise at freeway speeds unless I'm tucked way in (I'm 6'2), so I'm thinking about plugs.

So, which of you wear ear plugs? And do you notice a difference?

-g

Old 07-23-2005, 01:02 AM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Do you wear ear plugs?

on long ride I do.. it great for wind noise but the exhaust noise is still there...

Old 07-23-2005, 01:12 AM
1st Gear Member

Yes the exhaust noise is still there, but it's a lot quieter. I will not ride without them. Wind noise can cause more fatigue than anything when you ride. I can still hear the horns and sirens.

I use a set of $3.00 earplugs from the power tool section of Lowe's or Home Depot. When I listen to music, I have a set of Challenger custom made earphones. They are molded to fit my ears.

Once you ride with earplugs, you will never ride without them.

Old 07-23-2005, 03:33 AM

I just started riding with them a week ago, and I've been using them mostly for the long trips to work. When I'm riding in town, I think I want to hear everything that is going on around me.....don't forget I'm in Las Vegas.....but I like not being distracted when wearing them on long trips. I've been looking into getting custom fitted ones but don't know if I like the price [:'(]

Old 07-23-2005, 04:41 AM
Super Moderator