Help! Can't start

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2007, 12:21 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Help! Can't start

Please forgive if there's already a thread similar to this... I found a couple that discussed clicking and no starting, but I didn't get anything that was useful to myself from those threads. I'm new to sport biking entirely... in fact the only bike I ever owned was a Susuki gs550 (1981 I think), and only cause it was given to me. So yesterday I purchased a used zx7r from a local bike shop here. I paid very good money for the bike.. being as old as it is, and with 18,000 miles on it, but was told of all the work that's been done to make it top noch and ready to ride. These are the things that I know are done to it: flatside carbs, air shift, d&d exhaust, new tires/chain/plugs and oil. The guy at the shop started it and it ran just fine, sounded great, I was in love with it... I get it in the back of my truck and some 5 or 6 hours later, try to start it in the truck still and nothing. lights on, but no start. So I sit there for a few minutes feeling dumb as hell and after repeatedly pushing the button, finally it fires right up.. no cranking over. I let it idle for at least 5 minutes, maybe more.. then when I came up to temp, I rev'ed it to 3/4k rpms and then turned it off. Started it once more right after to make sure it was going to start for me and it did. So it sat in my truck all night and all day today, as soon as I get home, I can't wait to get it out and ride. I get it out of the truck, first try nothing... second try starts right up. I let it idle for a good 10 minutes and come out, shut it off so I can put the plate on the back, and when I tried to restart it.. nothing. The headlight was on, the neutral night was on, the horn worked... compressor for air ran fine, turn signals function... but no crank or anything. so after listening closely, you can hear a very small click upon first pressing the button.. but it's not a continuous clicking.. just one,