ZX-6r engine questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2007, 09:47 AM
Default ZX-6r engine questions

Hello, I am a student at Oregon State Univ and I am taking part in our FormulaSAE racing team. My question is that we are and have been running a 2001-2003 (I think thats the year range) zx6r engine because of its power, reliability and cost. One thing about it though is that we have to run our own intake and injection system and we also run a stand alone computer and tune it on a dyno that we have in our shop. I have been on the team for a couple weeks and have drifted into the engine side of things, I really didnt want to get into the suspension yet or the chassis and it looked like the engine guys needed the help.

I would like to know if there were any companies thatmake custom internals i.e. crank, cams, rods and pistons. Also I had an idea that to save weight it is that we could run a carbon fiber exhaust off of a newer R6 or GSXR because they are like half the size of a regular muffler. We are allowed 110Db and I think that it would do alright with one but dont really know if that would really affect the performance of the engine by having practically an open header. Having worked on some dirt bikes and owning a streetbike(r6) I can fix things wrong with them but never dug inside a bike like this before. Any help or direction would be greatly appreciated and we are always looking for sponsors. (I know, I know shameless plug)

We won best acceleration last year and we are running an air shifted transmission (the airshifter setup is student designed) but we over heated in the endurance race because I think they had too small of a radiator. Anyone know how heavy a stock radiator on a zx6r?

here is the link for our team. http://groups.engr.oregonstate.edu/SAE/indexA.html

Old 02-13-2007, 09:50 AM
Default RE: ZX-6r engine questions