stalling while downshifting

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2006, 07:23 AM
Default stalling while downshifting

Need some help guys. My bike stalls while downshifting mostly from second to first but occassionally when I downshift from third to second. It doesn't happen all the time but often enough for me to be concerned. I'm wondering if it has anything to do with the pc3.... the bike also started to back fire a little when i down shift. any help is greatly appreciated thanks

Old 07-05-2006, 07:57 AM
c10
Default RE: stalling while downshifting

what kind of bike and have you set the IDLE to spec ? Any mods or is the bike ALL STOCK ? How long have you been riding ?
Alot of the time it is a NEWER RIDER not being smooth.

Old 07-05-2006, 08:05 AM

I have been riding for about 8 years now... I have a 05 636 w/ a yoshi rs5 exhaust, pc3, and bmc filter. The idle is set to spec. When I downshift to first my rpms drop down real low and the bike stalls out. I'm goonna hook up the lap top to the bike tomorrow to see if it has anything to do with the pc3, but I doubt it. I've had the pc3 on the bike for about a month now and the problem just started a couple of days ago. Like I said it doesn't happen every time, but often enough.

Old 07-05-2006, 08:39 AM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member

I think it was TX that had a similar prob once before... Ended up being his throttle bodies.... With the backfiring starting to happen, and the bike cutting out, I would have to guess the PC3...... With the bike popping, sounds like a fuel prob...

An intake leak or a vacuum leak somewhere, it could cause a very similar problem also....Easy enough to check the PC tho', and maybe go from there....

Old 07-05-2006, 08:49 AM
Super Moderator

Also there is little need for down shifting 2nd to 1st or 3rd to 2nd. IMO use your brakes, why put the added strain on the motor and trans if you are just stopping. 50.00 brakes or 500.00 trans. JMO though.

BTW Sup my KF bros and sisters! Glad to be home.