2002 Kawasaki ZX6R, brand new battery only lasts about a month with full charge.

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2013, 04:03 PM
Default 2002 Kawasaki ZX6R, brand new battery only lasts about a month with full charge.

I bought the bike last April, and from the beginning I've been having problems with the battery. Now I replaced it right away when I got the bike with full charge and it lasted a bit but the mixture in the engine was too rich and so it still had trouble starting when the engine was hot, now by the time that got fixed the battery was run down and so I got it checked and the battery was fine, I charged it again and I was good for about a month and a half give or take... but now it's sitting out in my garage, and I don't know what it could be.
I'm not a mechanic but this is my main method of transportation at the moment and I don't have the money to take it to a shop.
I'm guessing the problem's the alternator, or maybe there's a loose cable somewhere letting all the juice out, but if it was a loose cable would it have lasted a month?
If you guys have any ideas as to what I could check or what I should do i'd really appreciate it. thanks.

Old 10-03-2013, 04:37 PM
1st Gear Member

It is probably your stator or the cable from the stator sometimes those break

just in case:

Old 10-03-2013, 06:58 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by sugi43
I bought the bike last April, and from the beginning I've been having problems with the battery. Now I replaced it right away when I got the bike with full charge and it lasted a bit but the mixture in the engine was too rich and so it still had trouble starting when the engine was hot, now by the time that got fixed the battery was run down and so I got it checked and the battery was fine, I charged it again and I was good for about a month and a half give or take... but now it's sitting out in my garage, and I don't know what it could be.