05 ZX6R Engine cutting out

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2008, 03:12 PM
1st Gear Member
Default 05 ZX6R Engine cutting out

Ok so I got a steal on my bike and it runs good and all that ****... the problem that I am having is that after about an hour and a half or so or about approximately 60 miles the bike starts acting up. I will be riding and the bike will just cut off. At first it will start cutting out but still going and then cut off. I can turn the key off and on and start it and it will go for a minute and just cut off again. If I pull over and let it just idle it will idle fine and even rev fine but when I start riding again it does the same thing. It will eventually stop acting up after a while and then it will ride fine. Weird **** but I have a su****ion that it is a fuel pump but I am not a motorcycle mechanic I just know cars. If anyone could steer me in the right direction I would appreciate it.

Old 10-27-2008, 09:23 PM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member

Bump for the new member.

Old 10-27-2008, 09:24 PM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member

Is it just shutting off like no power or is it bogging like its starving from gas? That will lead us down the right path.

Old 10-27-2008, 10:15 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by deej
Is it just shutting off like no power or is it bogging like its starving from gas? That will lead us down the right path.
Also sorry to be a bitch, but how long does it take to start up again, and do your lights on your instrument panel stay on when the bike dies?

Old 10-27-2008, 10:26 PM
1st Gear Member