ZX10R replacing exhaust---Help

Search this Thread

Old 04-03-2005, 08:15 PM
Default ZX10R replacing exhaust---Help

Looking for info about exhaust. Thinking of putting a Muzzy or Akropivch full Ti pipe on. What happens to low and mid range power without buterfly valve?

Old 04-05-2005, 02:32 AM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member
Default RE: ZX10R replacing exhaust---Help

I'm sure the manufacture has designed the pipe better that the stocker..

usually with most pips you lose a little of you bottom end anyway [:@]

Old 05-28-2005, 03:27 PM

WELL THE ONLY REASON YOU WOULD LOOSE POWER IS IF YOU JUST PUT A SLIP-ON PIPE ON YOUR FACTORY HEADERS AND JETS. IM A MECHANIC OS 10 YEARS AND I KNOW FOR A FACT IF YOU USE A MUZZY (WHAT I HAVE ON MY BIKE) PIPE AND EXHAUST PLUS JET YOUR BIKE. YOU WILL HAPPY WITH THE RESULTS YOU GET MORE POWER PLUS A MEAN *** RUMBLE.

Old 08-01-2005, 05:42 AM

NOS been looking at the muzzys system. very tempting.

Old 01-02-2006, 08:17 AM
Administrator
1st Gear Member

To be honest, I am not sure. Have read that the butterfly valve was to help in meeting the emisions/noise requirements. Have not read much on what else it actually does or how.
ORIGINAL: crash972

Looking for info about exhaust. Thinking of putting a Muzzy or Akropivch full Ti pipe on. What happens to low and mid range power without buterfly valve?

Old 01-02-2006, 08:29 PM
Super Moderator

Here is the correct answer to your question bro; removing the butterfly valve and installing a full system will result in a hp gain at the top end and a loose of hp on the low to mid range.

Most street riders do most of there ridding at the low to mid range and not a lot at the top end.

If installing the full system you will have to add a power commander to adjust the air fuel mixture or you will run to lean and damage your motor.