Gear Selection and Price!

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2007, 10:08 PM
Default Gear Selection and Price!

I guess I better say hi before I start asking too many questions... So, hi!

Anyway, I'm quite new to riding (the only manual-trans bike I've ridden was when I was around 10, and I only rode it twice!). I'm 20 now, and got the urge to ride.
I've whittled my choices of bike down to the 500R - I'd like a bigger bike (Yam R6S looks fun), but given the price and my lack of experience, it's just out of the question for now. I've looked around for bikes a bit, and signed up for the MSF course (tomorrow and Sunday, actually)... but what about gear?

I looked at gear a year or so ago, when a bike was further out of reach... I'd figured on mostly Fieldsheer (I think is the name) textile/armor (jacket, pants, boots, gloves) and an Icon helmet (I think it was the 'domain' style). So, a full(?) set for under $1,000.
Is a full set of decent gear for $1,000 or less reasonable?
Note that I'm not after full racing leathers or anything... just something to help keep me a little safer on the ride to/from work (and plenty of leisure riding I'm sure).

Is textile 'good enough'? And cheap enough?

Old 06-29-2007, 11:34 PM
Default RE: Gear Selection and Price!

One of the motorcycle mags did a comparison on materials. Don't know when and which one, but the leather could be draggedthe furthestbefore it wore through. Textile followed, then kevlar blends, then of course cotton, which lasted about 5 feet. Cortech has some very thick leathered jackets and good armor for around 250-300 bucks. Have fun!

Old 06-29-2007, 11:46 PM
Super Moderator

Its easy bro, spend on what you can afford right now and upgrade later as needed.

You should have at the least; Helmet, jacket (leather preferable), over the ankle boots (a must) and heavy armor jeans (leather pants preferable).