Twitchy handling?

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2007, 05:45 PM
Default Twitchy handling?

Hey all, question about handling. I'm pretty new to motorcycling and I just hit the 1000 mile mark on my 250 (1st bike). Every time I ride now I ride a tiny bit faster and turn a tiny bit harder as my confidence and skills build up. Last night I pushed it a little harder than usual. I was riding around though the bike felt really "twitchy" or "nervous" in the turns. For example, I went straight through a roundabout at a decent speed so it was a quick right then a quick left. As I was leaning the bike over for the turns the front wheel mainly but the back wheel as well both felt like they were twitching back and forth. I wasn't even pushing it hard or going all that fast. Normally you talk about bikes inspiring confidence in you, but this had the opposite effect. Is this normal?

My tires are in pretty good shape. I'm not a small guy or a huge guy somewhere in the middle 6' 180lbs. When I brake hard, the front fork bottoms out. I know we don't have high end suspension components in these bikes. Maybe is it time to change the suspension?

Old 10-23-2007, 06:33 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Twitchy handling?

How is the tire pressure and were the tires warmed up? Meaning were you riding for more then 5 - 10min before hitting the curves.

Old 10-23-2007, 07:13 PM

Tire pressure is good, I usually check before every ride, it's around 33. I also had been riding for about 10 or 15 minutes.

Old 10-23-2007, 08:09 PM
Super Moderator
1st Gear Member