Timing issues? PLEASE HELP!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2007, 11:05 AM
Default Timing issues? PLEASE HELP!!

So i'm a noob to this whole riding thing as well, picked myself a 250r. Helluva deal! 8k miles, front fairings missing tho (laid down at a slow speed)...300 bucks!!! Mechanically sound and everything. One of my VERY experienced riders checked it over and steered me to this bike. I've already put over 1k this riding season problem free. Well, i was riding it to graduations this last weekend, bout a 45 min trip all interstate. I parked and talked for a couple hrs then got back on the bike...started great...ran great til bout 15 miles down the road...going about 85, not wide open (hiway)and she dogged really bad and died...didn't think anything bout it, switched the reserve on....popped the clutch, she started started up and i kept going. It died on me again. popped the clutch and she fired up, it started makin a bad knocking noises so i coasted to the closest farmhouse...andi ended up adding a QUART yes a quart of oil to it...generous guy...i know i know STUPID ME! and no the bike doesn't sound any better after adding oil to her....i pulled the plugs and it appears one of em is hitting the piston b/c the arc point was crushed down (.005 - .010 gap max).The marks on the elbow of the arc arm were the tip of its been "hitting" or just started hitting.....Then i found out spacers weren't put in whenthe plugswere replaced. Got new plugs, runs rough, and dogs to all hell...second gear running wide open is slower than normal second gear idling would be...also the harder i seem to get on it the doggier (bad word choice lol) it gets...but, my 2 somewhat mechanically inclined roomates swear the timing is off....i dont get how it could just slip going down the hiway at a consistent speed...so we dicked around alil with it (moved it one tooth back) and it seemed to get alil better but that knock and clatter is still persistant as hell, and the spark plug hasn't been be