Starting out on a 250...?

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2008, 05:02 AM
Default Starting out on a 250...?

Hi guys, just another noob here hehe

Here's a little background; I'm 17, I road race with SCCA in a spec miata, and I have a total of about 1 hour ride time on anything on 2 wheels (except for a bicycle). I have driven a dirtbike for just an extremely small amount of time.

Recently I have shown an interest in motorcycles, especially something small like a ninja 250.

But one problem I am running into is my parents; some of you may remember your parents claiming it is very unsafe (which I do understand it can be), but for goodness' sake, I road race twice a month . So may I have any suggestions as to how to convince my parents it really wouldn't be that unsafe, or should I just wait until I'm 18 (few months) and just pay for one with my own money?

I dropped by my local bike shop, looked at the 08 250R, and fell in love immediately . Even though I most likely would get a lightly used early 2000 something

And please, don't mistake me for some little punk teenager who is just looking for a cheap thrill, or one who is a whiney little kid just wanting to go fast.

Old 04-25-2008, 05:16 AM
Default RE: Starting out on a 250...?

i just got one. gets delivered in may

i mean if you respect the bike and know your ability, it is pretty safe i would imagine. the bike im getting is the first for me though and ive read its a great starter bike

Old 04-25-2008, 01:47 PM

Buy the bike with your cash. Nothing more nothing less

Old 04-25-2008, 02:00 PM
1st Gear Member

buy it for yourself - no point in trying to convince the parents to help you get something they don't want you to have.

make sure you set asside a couple hundred dollars for helmet/jacket/boots/gloves at a minimum. if you shop around and ask around here for where the deals are then you can get all that stuff for about 300$ with good but inexpensive gear.

Old 04-25-2008, 08:55 PM
cls
1st Gear Member