Bike Keeps Dying Out

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2007, 02:01 AM
Default Bike Keeps Dying Out

Hello

This is my first time here; I apologize that my first post is asking for advice on a problem with my bike.

I have a 2007 250R with about 800 miles on the odometer. I bought it through private party from a lady who only put about 200 miles on it before selling it. Everything seemed to be in perfect working order and I hadn't had any problems with it before this. I even had the gas tank recall done a couple months ago.

I got really busy in the past month and did not get to ride it at all. Today, the bf and I decided to go for a ride. The bike started up just fine, with the choke all the way up. I usually let the bike warm up while I gear up, and then gradually ease off of the choke as I start riding.

Anyway, when I got on the bike, I turned the choke down about halfway and the rpms dropped really low. I tried to give the bike some gas but the rpms did not go up. I figured since it had been a few weeks since I'd ridden, I wasn't used to the controls anymore. But suddenly, the rpms spiked up and the bike lurched forward.

Through the next few intersections, the bike continued to act in this manner. If I turn the choke up all the way, the rpms stay steady at about 6k or 7k. But as soon as I try to close the choke a teeny little bit, the engine starts to falter and sputter like it's not getting enough gas. When I roll the throttle, there is a delay and then the rpms suddenly spike again like it finally got a surge of gas.

The last time I fueled up was August 31 (exactly 32 days ago). Since then I only went 26 miles and I confirmed the gas tank is still full. The bf filled up his R6 with me that same day, and his bike is not having any problems at all. Not sure if it makes a difference that I'm carburated and he's not...

And yes, I checked that the fuel switch is set to "on" (not "off" or "res").

Old 10-03-2007, 02:31 AM
Administrator
1st Gear Member