250 or 500

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2006, 12:34 AM
1st Gear Member
Default 250 or 500

hey everyone i'm a newb. to the forums and to bikes. I fell in love the Ninja 500 but I don't have any experience on a bike and I'm being told its a death wish. I think I can still afford it but the 250 would be safer, less power, and cheaper. I'm afraid Im gonna get bored with it. I want want that's comfortable - that I can ride for quite a while if I want to( I know sport bikes aren't comfortable to begin with) Anywayz just wonderin which would be a bettter buy for a straight beginner. How much power do the bikes have?

Old 08-22-2006, 12:38 AM
Administrator
1st Gear Member
Default RE: 250 or 500

welcome to KF.

Old 08-22-2006, 01:16 AM

I'm a newbie to bikes as well, and I've riden a Ninja 250. It's not a very quick bike, so I wouldn't worry too much about getting in trouble with it. The 500 has another 20 or so HP, but it's also a bit heavier. Even if the bike has a lot of power, that doesn't mean you have to WOT shift it all the time!
For me, I like the 500 better because it's not as small. I'm 5'11" and the 500 just fits me better. But there are tall people that like the 250 better.

Old 08-22-2006, 01:22 AM
1st Gear Member

hey thanx a lot for the quick response and input. DO you have a 500? Do you think its too much power or too dangerous for a complete beginner rider? from what I read about the 250 it doest have very much get up and go...but then again I don't want TOO much . Also does a 500 take much maintenance?

Old 08-22-2006, 03:00 AM

ORIGINAL: longinforabike

hey thanx a lot for the quick response and input. DO you have a 500? Do you think its too much power or too dangerous for a complete beginner rider? from what I read about the 250 it doest have very much get up and go...but then again I don't want TOO much . Also does a 500 take much maintenance?