2008 Ninja 250R Gas Tank Noise?

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2008, 10:16 PM
1st Gear Member
Default 2008 Ninja 250R Gas Tank Noise?

Hey guys/gals, I am a first operator of a new 2008 Ninja 250R. From the very first day I have been hearing a noise from the gas tank just like some of the other post on this forum. I have checked the hose and there is no kink in it. I have just put 125 miles on it and have had the oil changed. There is still close to a half tank left of dealer gas from pick up.

I can open the gas cap to relieve the pressure but in a few seconds up to a few minutes you can be in the garage and hear the noise start up again while it is sitting out on the sidewalk in front of the house.

Any ideas?

Oh, forgot to add, I am sure I am about to hear a lot of flack for buying a 250R as my first bike and yes I am already ready for some more horse. It is sort of small but it will do for a year or two.

Please help me with my gas tank issue.

Also, I ride about 18 miles one direction to work, all highway, will the rpm's at about 7K kill my engine? I am thinking about dropping my rear sprocket from a 45 to a 41 to help lower my RPM and do understand that I will lose power else where, but I am ok with that as I do more highway riding than any other roads.

Thanks for any tips and nice to meet you all.....

Bryan

Old 05-12-2008, 02:17 AM
Default RE: 2008 Ninja 250R Gas Tank Noise?

hey bryan,
listen bro.. first off the gas tank noise is common on any bike! so it's nothing unusual. when i first bought my bike the noise was very obnoctious, but after about 300 miles it rarely makes the noise and again like i said this is common on every bike.