Young, Dumb, and...

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2013, 12:58 AM
1st Gear Member
1st Gear Member
Default Young, Dumb, and...

Toppled my bike tonight. Now the throttle's sticking and the front brake lever is bent in a "U". The front brake lever will be cake, but the sticking throttle is a new one. What can cause this? It was dark, so I didn't have a real good chance to look, but I noticed that the bars punched through the rubber on that side. I'll be taking a better look after classes tomorrow, but any possible cures or ideas would be much appreciated. Guess I'm still learning.

Thanks,
Mike

Old 01-29-2013, 01:15 AM
1st Gear Member

When I did pretty much the same thing with my bike...

The rubber was mushed and mashed, pieces of the underlying plastic were missing which allowed the rubber to mangle bits of itself into the tube and the scraped bar end.

The problem is the oem waffle grips are like glued like crazy to the throttle tube. Basically as I surgically scrapped the rubber off the throttle tube I realized the majority of the plastic tube was cracked and broken... only being held together by the rubber grip.

I had to buy a new grip. It sucked too considering the new grip conveniently has that lovely oem grip glued to it again... and I was going with new bars, grips, etc.

Maybe you will get lucky and just be able to chop of the end of the throttle tube and get by for now... but mine was shattered.

Old 01-29-2013, 01:21 AM
1st Gear Member
1st Gear Member

Ha, the way my luck goes, I'll have to get a new bike! That's good to know, although my grip doesn't seem to be quite as on there as yours. I've noticed that the grip can twist on the throttle...thingy on the inside edge. Thanks for the advice. Any other possibilities from anyone?

Old 01-29-2013, 01:39 AM
1st Gear Member