Valve Noise ?

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2006, 05:23 PM
JC
Default Valve Noise ?

I've only got about 25 miles on my KLX but even from the first start-up, I have been hearing what I think is excessive tapping of the valves. Has anyone else had this problem? I thought after I rode it for a few miles, the noise would decrease or go away completely, but no luck yet. Should I take it back to the dealer? I'm no motorcycle mechanic but it sounds like the valves need to be adjusted.

Old 03-21-2006, 05:47 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Valve Noise ?

ORIGINAL: JC

I've only got about 25 miles on my KLX but even from the first start-up, I have been hearing what I think is excessive tapping of the valves. Has anyone else had this problem? I thought after I rode it for a few miles, the noise would decrease or go away completely, but no luck yet. Should I take it back to the dealer? I'm no motorcycle mechanic but it sounds like the valves need to be adjusted.
A couple of simple things to check first:

With the engine running, get down beside it and try to identify more specifically where the sound is coming from. It may be as simple as one or both of the exhaust stud nuts being loose where the header pipe connects to the head. A small leak there can sound just like valve clack.

Also, your bike is equiped with a smog device for the EPA called an Air Valve. It's setting on top of the head beneath the tank and it opens and closes on every revolution of the engine. It can also make a clacking sound. I highly recommend removing that anyway so you might start with that (instructions posted elsewhere on this forum).

If neither of those seem to be the problem, then it might be worth taking it in to have it checked if it bothers you but having them make noise (because they're slightly loose) is really not a problem and just means you'll have longer before they get too tight and have to be adjusted.

Old 03-21-2006, 06:50 PM
JC