swapping handlebars question

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2011, 10:52 PM
red
1st Gear Member
Default swapping handlebars question

may seem like a silly question, but its my first time changing handlebars on a motorcycle. how do i get the grips off of the bike? the mirrors and everything else is clamps just dont want to damage the grip and throttle when i remove it.

tweaked my handlebars awhile ago and finally getting around to swapping them out with another stock set. the bike is an 09 250sf

Old 10-18-2011, 11:33 PM
1st Gear Member

cut them with a razor blade. go buy new grips. put the new ones on like you a bicycle. if you want you can buy special glue if the spin

Old 10-19-2011, 02:34 AM
1st Gear Member

Yeah, you are going to find it nearly impossible to save your current grips I'm afraid. Your best bet is to cut them off and put a new set on your new bars.

A word of advice with that - The throttle side grip has a larger diameter than the clutch side grip, so make sure you are putting the grips on the correct sides. When you put them on, pour some petrol/gasoline into them first. This will act as a bit of a lubricant to pull the grips on easier, and it will perish and "stick" the grips on beautifully so they don't slip around.

My personal preference of aftermarket grip is the Pro Taper Pillow grips - they rock!

Old 10-19-2011, 11:17 PM
red
1st Gear Member

damn, afraid yall were gonna say that. on the throttle grip is there a certain spot 'not' to cut it to make sure i dont damage the throttle mechanism?

Old 10-19-2011, 11:58 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by red
damn, afraid yall were gonna say that. on the throttle grip is there a certain spot 'not' to cut it to make sure i dont damage the throttle mechanism?
Na, it's just a plastic tube - cut the whole length of the grip with a craft knife.

Old 10-20-2011, 02:02 AM
red
1st Gear Member

sweet, thanks

Old 10-20-2011, 02:31 PM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member