Soon to be KLX250 owner with some questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2007, 04:04 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Soon to be KLX250 owner with some questions

First off I would like to say that this forum is great. I have been searching around and reading a lot of posts and have come to the conclusion that the KLX250 is the bike for me.

I decided that buying it new was the way to go because I can do the break in and also maintain it correctly (im a freak about that stuff). Also I don’t have $3000 on me for a used bike. I have read some stuff about the Kawasaki warranty and think I want it. I mean I like working on my bikes but I would not say im a pro. I have never checked my valves (had a CRF150 for a year) but it doesn’t sound too hard. But the warranty could cover the big stuff. From what I have read 300 is a fair price for the warranty (the 4 year one), correct?

Now the other part of the warranty… mods. I want to get the full muzzy exhaust, dyno jet kit along with the air box mod so that the bike runs correct and not lean as hell (had to do the same thing for my CRF). But from what it sounds like, a slip on is the only thing that will not “void” the warranty? I also would like to put a 13 tooth front sprocket on, hope that doesn’t cause a problem too.

I live in Michigan (metro Detroit area) so if anyone knows of any dealers (stealers) that are fair, shoot them my way. My plan is to buy the bike at the end of the season and try to find a dealer that wants to get rid of the 2007’s and will do anything to get rid of it. So a warranty and gear may get thrown in with a lower price, but that’s a probably not gonna happen.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
-Nick
[sm=patriot.gif]

Old 09-14-2007, 04:20 AM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Soon to be KLX250 owner with some questions