RV bike?

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2009, 02:58 AM
Default RV bike?

Noob here, 51 years old and started riding last September with a Kawi Versys, a 650cc bike but it has been a good starter bike for me. I love the Versys and I love riding! But I also love to RV and explore forests on forest roads, etc., and I am thinking about a KLX250S for something light enough to hang on the back of my Subaru, with the Subaru being towed behind my RV.

This would give me something good to charge around forest roads and run errands in town, using a backpack to hold a small amount of groceries and goodies, etc. I am 3 years away from retiring and traveling full time, so I have time to decide, and enjoy the bigger bike.

Does this all make sense? Any suggestions?

Old 04-16-2009, 03:21 AM
1st Gear Member

Hi Chuck, Sounds like your getting ready to have some fun. I don't know the hitch rating on a subaru, but it sounds like it might be too much to hang off the back of it. I assume your talking about a receiver mounted bike carrier? Can you mount a 2" reciever on the front of your RV? If so you could load the bike on a hitch mount bikie carrier on the front of the RV and hitch the subaru to the back. Maybe you could modify/fabricate something to sit in-between the RV and the car.
Name:  IMG_4696.jpg
Views: 64
Size:  122.5 KB

Old 04-16-2009, 03:55 AM

That looks like the same carrier I've been looking at. Subaru I have can take 350 lbs., if I get a new one it will handle 400. I will look into a front hitch, but I'm concerned about putting that much additional weight on the front axle. Thanks for the pic and reply. And yes, I do plan on having some fun!

Old 04-16-2009, 04:01 AM
1st Gear Member

Dan, did you build that bike rack, or buy it? I have been thinking about building on, and wondered if its worth the time and effort, or better off to just pay the $$ and get one done.

Old 04-16-2009, 02:22 PM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member