Risks of lowering

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2013, 11:10 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Risks of lowering

Hey all,

I'm still pretty new to the dual sport game... Well the game of a motorcycle at all for that matter. I'm interested in lowering my KLX or having it adjusted for me and I want to know the best ways to do this.

I'm 5'8 and I have a little trouble touching the ground easily, I usually only get my toes down and even then I don't feel fully comfortable. I am a bit heavier than most of the people I've been reading about when it comes to suspension questions on here. I have a 32" inseam and I'm weighing in right at 215 lbs.

I've seen information about lowering links or moving the bars... I think the lowering links would work best, but I worry about clearance at that point... I also heard that I could just adjust my suspension and go from there, but I'm not sure if that was accurate.

My biggest concerns are clearance and ride quality/handling.
(I'm getting a skid plate soon for the clearance part, but still worried.)

Any information you all could provide would be much appreciated.

Thanks everyone,
HT

Old 02-12-2013, 11:44 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member

One detail...how will you use the bike? Off road, at your weight, with a lowered bike, you'll be smacking the ground frequently. For pavement and just dirt road use, a stiffer spring after you lower the bike at the fork and with links will probably be just fine. You need at least a 6.0 rear spring at your weight and stiffer springs in the fork. You can lower the bike, but you'll still need springs to keep that bike from going to the ground any quicker than it already will.

Old 02-13-2013, 12:25 AM
1st Gear Member

The KLX is not a tall bike, if you are 5'8", you are plenty tall for this bike. Check your rear sag and make sure your preload isn't cranked down too much (that would be my guess if you aren't able to reach the ground easily).