Riding gear

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2011, 12:29 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Riding gear

Just bought a 09 klx 250s, driving down state to pick it up friday. Anyhow, what's everybody wearing for protection. I'm lookin at a 661 vapor pressure suit and a EVS RC EVOLUTION neck brace. Just wondering if anyone has this set up, or could recommend some good protective equipment. I'm a paramedic, i know what these bikes can do to people. I'm really an easy rider, not doing anything stupid. But in the end I don't want to miss work lol.

Old 03-08-2011, 12:59 AM
TNC
1st Gear Member

When I jump on the KLX and ride into town for kicks, I just have jeans, gloves, long sleeve shirt, and full coverage helmet. But when I go riding on my KLX for a more serious purpose, it's usually involving dirt and trail riding. I wear most all the known dirt riding gear except the neck brace.

I also have a 661 pressure suit, but frankly I can only wear it at high elevations or very cool weather. Any other time I'm wearing an Answer Apex padded hardshell armor. You have to pick through the hardshell armor offerings because some are just glorified roost protectors from the old days. The better hardshell stuff now has impact padding in the shoulders, chest, ribs, and back, but still allows a lot of ventilation. It's what I normally use. I also attach elbow/forearm guards to the shoulder guards, so that I don't have to cinch them too tightly to stay in place instead of constantly riding down your forearms in the rough terrain.

I go with full MX boots, full coverage helmet, gloves, upper body armor, hip pads, full dirt pants, knee/shin guards in the pants, and a hydration pack. Yes, looks a bit Star War'sy perhaps, but when I fall, I can almost always just get up, dust myself off, and continue on my way...if the bike ain't broke.