Ride height.. Has my bike been lowered? Measurement please?

Search this Thread

Old 12-30-2019, 07:26 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Ride height.. Has my bike been lowered? Measurement please?

Hey guys (and girls), I just bought a beautiful 2009 low mileage KLX250S. Original owner was a female who added a pipe to it, then sold it to a guy that did jet kit and some other mods. I noticed that the fork legs seem to be sticking through the triple clamps a little more than I would expect. I wish I had taken a photo of it but forgot and now I am at work. I was wondering if anyone has a stock bike, if you could please measure the distance from the top of the top triple clamp, up to the top edge of the fork leg so I will know if it has been lowered. I hope to post my measurement and possibly a pic later tonight. Thank you for the help. I have a lot of experience lowering front ends on street bikes, and this looks like someone did that to the KLX.

Old 12-30-2019, 09:37 PM
1st Gear Member

From what you're saying about the forks and possibly, but not necessarily because one of the previous owner was a female, most likely the bike has been lowered. Off the top of my head, the forks usually are about the width of a quarter or less above the top clamps. Which also means the dog bones were changed as well.

BTW- my oldest son lowered his KLX250 and KX250F so he could sit flat footed. As for me, it's almost tippy toes on my bikes.

Old 12-31-2019, 03:54 AM
1st Gear Member