Rear shock air pressure?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2009, 06:28 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Rear shock air pressure?

hey guys... i went out today to do a little work on the klx and someone yold me on a forum before to let all the air out of the front and back shocks before setting the sag... well i jet the air out of the forks and the rear shock... the forks still seem fine but the rear shock seems to have no compression dampening, whatso ever now that i let the air bleed out of the schrader valve on the piggyback canister i tryed turning the cd screw all the way in and out and there isnt any change in the compression dampening the rebound still seems to work but it sounds like the oil os gushing around insice in the rebound stroke... does anybodu know whats goinmd on... shoudl i put some air back into the valve? if so hom many psi should go in there roughly for mainly off road use?

Old 02-05-2009, 07:21 PM
1st Gear Member

I'm no expert but believe the the shock is nitrogen charged and will probably need to be refilled by someone with that capability. They should know how much to put in. The forks should run at normal atmospheric pressure so should not be an issue.

Again, not an expert but the guy that told you to let the nitrogen out of your shock to set the sag, sounds like an idiot.

Old 02-05-2009, 08:39 PM
1st Gear Member

The rear shock is filled with nitrogen to put consistant pressure on the shock fluid. Nitrogen is stable air is not. Do not use air to fill your shock! You are now going to have to take either the shock or the whole bike to a dealer or a reputable shop and have it refilled with nitrogen. Read your manual for directions on how to adjust your rear shock preload, and for any other procedures you may not be familiar with.

Old 02-05-2009, 08:44 PM
1st Gear Member