Overheating stock exhaust

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2010, 08:41 PM
Default Overheating stock exhaust

I've been searching, but not found any threads on this issue.

I bought a bike from the local Kawasaki dealer ( Brockton Cycle Center, Brockton, MA) a couple of weeks ago. It's an '07 trade in. It had a FMF Powercore 4 exhaust on it. But that was so noisy I got a stock exhaust and installed it yesterday.

The bike runs the same. Same amount of power and revs. But the stock exhaust gets real hot. Much hotter than the FMF. It's melting the air box and fender on that side.

I assume the previous owner did some jetting work when he put the exhaust on. But the dealer didn't know anything about the bike. Only that they sold it to the original owner.

I have no carb or jetting knowledge. So don't know what, if anything, I can do right away. That's why I wanted to check the forum on this one.

Tom

Old 10-20-2010, 10:20 PM
TNC
1st Gear Member

Do you still have the fresh air injection system on the bike?...the one that allows air to pass into the exhaust after the combustion chamber to make a secondary burn for cleaner emissions. If the previous owner richened up the mixture to match an exhaust mod, with the stock system on there you could be getting a strong secondary burn in the exhaust with the extra fuel causing extreme exhaust pipe heat.

Otherwise extreme exhaust pipe temps are usually caused by an extremely lean condition, but with the stock system on there, that doesn't sound likely.

Old 10-20-2010, 11:20 PM

Don't know. I'll check tomorrow. That's a good idea. Thanks.

Tom

Old 10-20-2010, 11:59 PM
1st Gear Member

I've been contemplating removing that system just to see if that would get my exhaust temps down. It should likely come off anyway (seems like baggage), but damn that stock can gets hot. I moved my reflector about 1/2" closer to it when I shaved my tail, and it melted 10km later...

Old 10-21-2010, 12:21 AM
TNC
1st Gear Member