Ordered a new OEM coil and THIS NGK plug cap. Anyone else. Inexpensive alternative?

Search this Thread

Old 01-14-2020, 03:13 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Ordered a new OEM coil and THIS NGK plug cap. Anyone else. Inexpensive alternative?

Ordered a new coil today. Figured I should mate it to a new plug cap as well. The factory cap is INSANE expensive, and does not even come with the rubber boots for either end. I looked at the factory cap and it reads "NICHIWA XD05F". So after some looking, I come across a ton of listings for an NGK cap that is printed with "XD05F". It is a universal 102 degree cap that comes with the boots on it. It is also dirt cheap. Now I have never heard of Nichiwa, but I have a lot of experience with NGK. I found it very strange that there is really no mention of the use of these on the forums or on youtube. It is a resistor cap, but can be used on non resistor plugs according to the ebay listing I bought it from. Only $7 shipped, so if you guys say it's a terrible idea, it will be no big deal. Here is the description copied from the NGK site. I read on the Dennis Kirk site that if a bike starts and runs fine, but then dies when it warms up, that it could be an electrical issue. I have been chasing an issue with this bike for several days. Tonight, I installed a new plug which made it run better, and longer before it died, but died nonetheless. Then I decided since I was ordering a new coil, I would cut the pug wire back a bit and thread the cap into it and see if it helped. It did not. It made it worse, but seemingly the same symptoms, just worse. Thoughts on using this cap, and wtf I got going on with this thing? There is not much mention of coils, nor plug caps on here. I am really hoping I do not have a bad CDI/ECU. My apologies for all the new threads. I do use the search function prior to posting. Mods, please feel free to delete the "Could it be the COIL?" thread. No one answered it. Perhaps from lack of interest, or lack of experience.