One for the Wife

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2006, 07:03 PM
Default One for the Wife

Hi everyone! Looking at a KLX 250 s for my wife and have a few questions. She currently rides a Suzuki DR200SE that she loves, but needs more power. I have already rejetted and drilled out the exhust, but it still just doesn't have enough power. She really doesn't ride it off road, just paved back roads and dirt roads.

So, my questions are:

1. How does the KLX compare to the DR200 in terms of STOCK power? I know I can improve on the KLX, but as a basis of comparision how do they compare stock?

2. Can I lower the seat height? Is there an aftermarket lowering link, or do I have to fabricate my own? Can it even be done?

Thanks for any advise!!!

Old 01-23-2006, 07:35 PM
Default RE: One for the Wife

jam_nut,

While I don't own a DR200SE, I do get a chance to ride one on a regular basis. I work as an MSF RiderCoach and one of the training bikes at our school is a Suzuki DR200SE. I do however ride a KLX250S as I own one of those.

Let me say this, in comparison, there is no comparison between the two bikes. The KLX250 is so much more of a motorcycle than the little DR it is almost embarassing!

No one is currently making lowering links for the KLX250S, but a person I know has the ability and the machines to do that. We have already broached that subject. I want a "Raising Link" for the rear of my bike. The reason for this is that it mechanically alters (leverage) the advantage of the shock and spring over the size of the rider. That is it makes the stock rear suspension work better for full size riders, which I happen to be one of.

My KLR650 is equipped with a set and it makes all the difference in the world. Yes, the KLR650 is 1.25 inches taller than any other KLR650, but I am also able to ride with the preload set at a 1 or 2 instead of 5 and have the proper amount of sag in the rear suspension.