Off-road Riding Technique

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2006, 06:54 AM
Default Off-road Riding Technique

I know a few of the memeber of the this board have quite a bit of MX riding expereince in their past. THere's a couple things I want to learn. I have extensive MTB riding/racing experience, some road bicycle racing experience and a a couple thouseand miles on the race track with a sportbike. I'm no stranger to dragging a knee and sliding a 2 wheel machine around, but dirt bikes are a whole new world. As soon as the path becomes rutted or has lots of dips bumps, etc. pretty quickly I feel like the bike is getting away form me and I'm either too far back, or being tossed into the bars.

1) What is the correct body position when riding aggressively, going trough dips over logs or through whoops? I keep hearing about hte attack position.

2) What is the correct postion, technique when extending you foot out going through a corner. How do you touch down smoothly. When I do, my foot grabs the ground and gets yanked backwards. What's the correct way to do this?

Old 03-20-2006, 07:52 AM
Default RE: Off-road Riding Technique

1) Attack position: centered on bike, knees/legs sqeezing the bike, head over the bars(should be able to look down and see your number plate) but not too far forward, firm but relaxed grip on the bars, elbows up(not to far up looking like a chicken hawk), and you should be looking ahead like the way you look when driving a car.