Newbie here- lots of questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2006, 01:30 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Newbie here- lots of questions

Hi Travis,

welcome to the forum and KLX ownership. Sounds like you are used to performance bikes so I'll say this str8 up, you may be disapointed with the power when you first ride it. It is a great bike but quite docile in stock trim. The good news is it doesn't take much money or time to get it performing better.
There are lots of free mods (or low cost) to start you off, BMWHD (Todd) has written up quite a bit of detail (carbie and airbox) on this here and in other forums.
Then you can move onto cheap mods like gearing, cheapest is a 13 tooth front sprocket which may accelerate chain wear slightly, next is new rear sprocket but then you need a new chain.
Next is the $$$$ mods, like new exhaust and carbie. Most of the guys here have the Muzzy full system and there is also a Mikuni TM33 pumper carb mod that needs a little frame grinding to fit.
Hope this helps and I may have forgotten something but have a look round there is plenty of info here and other forums
Oh yeah there is also a 300 cc kit available in Australia or of course you can just buy the individual parts from your friendly Kawasaki dealer, the part numbers are in this forum

Old 04-13-2006, 03:14 PM
1st Gear Member

Welcome!

Like Mav said, this bike feels a bit down on power when new. Two things to look forward to: First, when it starts to break in (aroudn 500 miles) it loosens up and performs better. Second, there's a much better bike hidden inside just waiting to be set free with simple mods to the airbox, carb, and exhaust. Check out the posts at the top of this forum for lots of good info.

Old 04-13-2006, 03:22 PM

Some bad news. The Ninja 250 makes a lot more power than this bike. However the power is much "peakier" on the Ninja. This is mainly because the Ninja has 2 cylinders, while the KLX has a single cylinder.