New tires, HD tubes, and rimlocks.

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2011, 12:25 AM
1st Gear Member
Default New tires, HD tubes, and rimlocks.

I'm getting ready for the first race of the year, a desert race, on the KLX. I have 1200+ miles on it and have most of the mods done to ride real off road. The stock tires are really not bad but I want more so they are to be replaced with Dunlop 606s front and rear. I want DOT legal tires and figure I might as well try the Dunlops first.

So I ordered the whole mess from Rocky mountain which I've been doing for many years. 606s, Bridgestone HD tubes, and the motion pro rimlocks to match the rim.

First thing you do is set the tires by the stove to warm up. Cat seems intrigued.

Then rip off the OEM tire and tube. Stow them as shown for future use, really though, they'll just take up space from now on. Note the more open tread pattern of the 606 front.

Not sure on pitcure limits so I'll make post 2 to continue.

Attached Thumbnails New tires, HD tubes, and rimlocks.-balls-025.jpg   New tires, HD tubes, and rimlocks.-balls-027.jpg   New tires, HD tubes, and rimlocks.-balls-028.jpg   New tires, HD tubes, and rimlocks.-balls-029.jpg  
Old 03-06-2011, 12:31 AM
1st Gear Member

Kak-a-saki did one thing that I'm proud of them for. They made it so that you can move the axle up far enough to slip the OEM chain off the rear sprocket without messing with the master link. Good job Kawi, almost makes up for the dumb change away from snail adjusters.

Then rip off the rear and sit and stare at the half mounted tire, the super thick tube that needs to be stuffed in, and the valve stem that you know will be awful to poke through the rim.

I am using windex for lube, one big cast iron tire iron and one smaller iron to install.

Then I reinstall after airing up and making sure no leak down occurs. Tighten rim locks and valve stems. Then the final most important thing.... Slime. I am a big fan of slime. 8 ounces in each tire per the specs.