New Owner & Questions

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2014, 11:38 PM
Default New Owner & Questions

Hello everyone.

I recently picked up a 2006 KLX 250S. It has about 3000 miles on it. I believe it sat for a while as the previous owner did not ride it much.

I'm an avid sportbike rider (2008 Buell 1125r) but I'm a complete rookie when it comes to dirt bikes/dual sports. I love this bike so far and can't wait to see what adventures it will bring me.

The only problem I have so far is I think the float needle is stuck and it pours out fuel out of the float when the fuel is turned on. I can't get it to stop leaking and I really have no idea what to do. I'd like to get the carb rebuilt since I'm assuming after sitting awhile that is not good for it, but would rather wait to do that after the riding season.

The bike has a two brothers slip on and as far as I know the carb/engine has never been opened up.

I've searched relentlessly on how to fix the float and stop the leaking and have had really no luck. If someone could help me by providing any tips/tricks/solutions that would be great. I'm from the Milwaukee area if anyone is willing to help me out in person I would also appreciate that.

Travis

Old 09-17-2014, 11:57 PM
1st Gear Member

You would be better to take the carb out, clean it, make sure the float is working, then you can ride it.
If you don't want to do that, they have MC shops that will... in trade for money!

Probably better check to see if it has a carb first!

Oh yea, welcome to the forum.

Old 09-18-2014, 01:58 AM
1st Gear Member

When I let my 650 sit over the winter for a few months with the carb drained the float needle seized in the carb. I had to take the carb apart, pull the needle out with a pair of needle nose pliers, then lightly sand the needle OD and the ID of the seat tube to clean off the light corrosion. Put it back together and all was good.