New guy, quick ?

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2009, 06:11 PM
1st Gear Member
Default New guy, quick ?

Hi everyone, Im new to the KLX 250 and dual sports. I live near Greenville, SC and cant wait to ride in the mountains just as soon as I can get my tag. I have a ?, how can I determine if my bike is a California spec bike or not, I bought it in NE Georgia. I pulled the airbox lid off and now it bogs down when giving fuel quickly.

Thanks for the invite Deej.

Jimntr.......

Old 08-15-2009, 07:10 PM
1st Gear Member

Welcome ... I believe the '09s are all legal in all 50 states. You might be running way too lean ... put that lid back on until you can adjust your jetting.

Old 08-15-2009, 09:01 PM
1st Gear Member

My bike is an 07, that is why I am confused. I have read that the 49 state klx 250s were sent running a little rich. I guess that I will just replace the lid until I can get the jet kit and exhaust.

Old 08-15-2009, 11:35 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by jimntr
My bike is an 07, that is why I am confused. I have read that the 49 state klx 250s were sent running a little rich. I guess that I will just replace the lid until I can get the jet kit and exhaust.
Welcome.

Who told you KLX250S's come rich??? They are super lean, if you removed the lid, your bike isn't bogging, its cutting out because it doesn't have anywhere near enough fuel to run on. Put the lid back on. If your going to get a jet kit and exhaust your going to end up pulling the 118 main out of your bike (maybe a 120 even like mine) and putting in a 137.5 or so (depending on the brand of kit you get).

This bike likes gas.

Old 08-16-2009, 04:48 AM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by jimntr
Opinions are like buttholes. Everyone's got one. And they all stink. This bike is originally lean.

Old 08-16-2009, 07:51 AM
1st Gear Member