KLX250S Big Bore

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2013, 05:42 PM
1st Gear Member
1st Gear Member
Default KLX250S Big Bore

Ok I made up my mind, lets go big bore. 351cc big bore. A few questions first though, should I get the aftermarket carb that you can buy off of the same website and the big bore? And can I just do this at home or I need a shop to do? i'm a good mechanic, is it basically install and go then jet? thanks.

Last edited by daren1093251; 10-23-2013 at 06:30 PM.
Old 10-23-2013, 06:01 PM
1st Gear Member

Between these two write-ups and the service manual, I had a easy time of it just out in the garage. If you are already a competent mechanic it should be cake.

Runs fine with rejet on stock carb. Have heard new carb is nice, but it's not necessary at all.

There is a link to a PDF of the service manual around here somewhere if you search.

https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum...s-links-32538/

https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum...351-mod-31703/

The folks in this forum have been incredibly helpful, and searching around in here will get you pretty much whatever you need.

Old 10-23-2013, 07:06 PM
1st Gear Member

Broussard pointed you too the 2 threads you'll need. I also put together a jetting spreadsheet to reference what works for others https://www.kawasakiforums.com/forum...adsheet-39762/

Old 10-23-2013, 09:21 PM
1st Gear Member

Most people like the tm34, but other prefer the tm36-68 because it 100% tunable, whre the tm34 you can only change the jets and have to run with lid on.

Old 10-23-2013, 10:52 PM
1st Gear Member

Huh? Why if you have a T34 do you have to run with the lid on? I must have missed that thread, I was thinking of taking mine off.

Old 10-23-2013, 11:47 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by daren1093251