KLR 650

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2006, 05:48 AM
Your Humble Moderator/Admin
1st Gear Member
Default KLR 650

So there is a guy at work, a kid as I call him, he's 27 and has never rode a motorcycle....ever, but next month he is getting a brand new KLR 650. I am sort of worried about him. I mean I have been ridding off and on (mostly off) for about 30 years now, and I don't know what to tell him as far as what to do. I asked him if he was going to take the beginners safety course, and he said no, (pride). Anyway he wants me to do the break-in using the Mototune method like I used on my bike. Actually I am looking forward to seeing the difference between the two bikes. I guess I should take him under my wing? But I am still re-learning ridding all over again after a few years myself. In fact to tell you the truth, the 750 miles I have on my new bike have been the majority of the miles I have gotten in a long time. So I will let you guys know what happens, and if you have any words of wisdom for me in breaking in the bike and also some tips for the new guy that I hope I can keep alive for his new baby to be born next month. Usually when you have a baby you get rid of your bike, oh well.

deej

Old 04-01-2006, 06:12 AM
Default RE: KLR 650

Hey now Im 26, but I have been around bikes since I was 4. I recommend you police up that guy before before he gets hurt. Tell him to swallow his pride and take the coarse If anything he will at least learn about the casualty rate for road riding. And they have you do all those silly swerve and brake drills. If your really worried about him you can go out and set up all those drills yourself so he doesn't look like an *** during the riders coarse.

Old 04-01-2006, 06:18 AM