How Do You Use Your KLX250S ?

Search this Thread

Old 10-13-2006, 03:33 PM
Default How Do You Use Your KLX250S ?

I'm seeing a lot of different riding styles here.

We have the guys that ride the KLX250 like it was an MX bike.

We have the guys that ride the KLX250 like it was a pure dirt bike.

We have one guy that rides the KLX250 like is was a pure street bike and doesn't get it dirty.

We have some that ride the KLX250 as a commuter bike.

We have some that ride the KLX250 like a dualsport bike.

How do you ride yours?

Personally, I'm relatively new to off road riding. I've been street riding for many years and then I went out and bought a KLR650. Started riding off road and found a completely new passion to my riding - the ability to go and find what is "down that road" ! After riding it for some time, I felt that a smaller bike was in order as most of the off road in my area can put you in some deep sugar sand. I found a KLR250 and brought it home. Excellent bike, did what I wanted it to and I was happy with it. However, my artificial hip and the kickstarter were non-compatible. Kawasaki introduced the KLX250S and I have had mine for almost a year now and am loving the bike.

Now, my idea of riding off road is exploratory in nature. I find I can get places on the KLX250 that you would never get to with a 4 wheeled vechicle. It will just go wherever you want to go on it. To me, riding in nature is something that I truly enjoy. I don't like to ride fast, as I miss a lot of what I'm riding for, to see nature as it should exist - undisturbed.

For my style of riding, the KLX250S is just about perfect the way I have mine currently set up:

13 tooth countershaft sprocket
128 main jet
#40 pilot jet
NT1C needle with clip on 2nd from top
7/64ths hole in slide
Pilot screw out 2 1/8 turns
KDX 220 snorkle
Renthal handlebars
Moose Barkbusters
Acerbis gas tank
Acerbis Supermoto front fender