How do I check the valves

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2006, 09:17 AM
Default How do I check the valves

Is it possible for some experienced member to explain how to check the valves on my KLX250S bike? Even some pictures would be of great help. I'm very new to this process, but I love my new bike and hope it will last many many years. Also, does anyone else experience a wobble in the bike at over 55-60 MPH? I'm thinking maybe a tire balance issue or maybe it's normal???
Thanks for any reply.
Mark

Old 04-15-2006, 11:28 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: How do I check the valves

Welcome MIA1 re the valves have a read here.
Re the wobble, whats your experiance riding? What are the conditions when you find it wobbles? Are your tyres inflated correctly, are your rims dent free, are both wheels aligned? Is it only when you pass a large vehicle in the other direction?

Old 04-15-2006, 02:49 PM
1st Gear Member
1st Gear Member

What psi are you running in the tires?
My bike came from the dealer with 18psi in the front and 20psi in the rear. I changed it to 22psi in the front and 25psi in the rear and it is much more stable on the road.
The front fender contributes a lot to the wobble too because the wind really knocks it around at high speeds. You can change it to a Supermotard fender if it really bothers you.

Old 04-15-2006, 03:36 PM

I have found a wobble since putting in the carb mods as suggested by BMWHD. Why would I connect the carb mods to a wobble? Well the little bike will get up to 85 mph indicated now, that's why.

I do have a supermotard front fender on the bike, but the wobble is still there. Just prior to taking it out, I put 22 in the front tire, 25 in the rear tire.