Has anyone else experienced this?

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2008, 03:12 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Has anyone else experienced this?

Hi all!
On my KLX250 I have a kdx snorkel, UNI air filterand a two bros. slip-on. I did'nt rejet the bike yet (was just about to do it...) but went riding the bike to see how it would run. I'm not a mechanic but I did'nt notice anything wrong how the engines runs. I tried it in many different situations at different speeds, rpms... Even tried to snap the throttle different ways (0 to 1/2. 1/2 to full...) I'm not talking about the performance of course but how the engine runs. I checked my plug and seems all right (little bit brown...) I think it may run a bit rich but probably not a big problem. Is it worth rejetting? What difference would I see if I do?

Anyones advice would be appreciated!

Old 05-14-2008, 03:26 PM
1st Gear Member
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Has anyone else experienced this?

I'm shocked it runs at all... It was lean when it was stock.
By opening the airbox and the exhaust like you have, it's now even leaner.
(more air getting in and out, same amount of fuel).

You shouldn't ride it until you re-jet. You can damage your engine from the heat and fuel starvation.

Old 05-14-2008, 04:01 PM
Da dirty moderator
1st Gear Member

im not surprised it runs.... but it will run better after rejet.

Old 05-14-2008, 06:26 PM
1st Gear Member

I put on the Two Brothers can and fitted an OE #138 main jet and junked the airbox lid. OE #40 pilot too. Fuel screw 1 3/4 turns out for now! ( stock filter).
Night and day performance with all the mods. Runs like a scalded cat above 4K.
Not too bad below. Idles fine too.

Old 05-14-2008, 10:44 PM
1st Gear Member

Youmay not need to re-jet Over the past couple of weeks I have been Reserching the subject and this is what I came up with:
1) the bike is jetted for sea level and people say that it is a little lean. Doing the pipe and airbox would require to rejet