Gearing ?

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2010, 02:07 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Gearing ?

Hey, just joined the forum but I have been enjoying my 2009 klx 250s since September 2008. I have slowly been doing all the necessary mods. over The past 2 years and now I am playing with the idea of going to a 13 tooth front sprocket. I am currently running a 14 front (stock) and a 45 back which was the first mod that I did early in the spring of 2009. It helped the low end and I only gained about 500 rpms at 90 km/hr. 90 is about as fast as I need this bike to go on the black top because most of my riding is trail riding (four wheeler/snowmoblie trail and dirt roads. Any comments on dropping 1 tooth up front, will it rev through the roof on the pavement?

P.S. Mods that I have already completed:
- FMF Q4 slip-on
- Removed air box lid
- installed a UNI filter
- took the bike to local engine guy and got it rejetted on the Dyno
- moved up 3 teeth on the rear sprocket
- Moose skid plate
- Acerbis hand guards
- Mt 21 front and rear tires
- 1.5 inch bar rise kit
- cut off rear fender extension (to tidy up the rear end)

I have one more question, after all the mods ,this bike topped out on the dyno at @ 23.85 horsepower. Is this about what everybody else is getting or am I way of the mark?

Thanks

Old 12-07-2010, 03:32 AM
1st Gear Member

welcome MTB. I am also looking into changing my C/S sprocket this winter, and experiment a bit with regearing.

I think Deej has the 13/45 gearing so I'm sure he could tell you what his RPMs are at various speeds. Just remember, changing one tooth on the front is the same as doing 3 in the rear (42/14) stock ratio, so with that quick thought I would think your RPMs would double from the original rear sprocket swap to an additional 500 RPMs at 90 km/hr.

I haven't taken mine to the dyno but I have similar mods to what you've listed so I would expect mine to be similar.