Coolant

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2012, 12:25 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Coolant

I know this has been discussed many times, but I'm new to cycles and easily confused, so I'm going to ask anyway.
What brand of coolant do you guys use in your bikes? It can be name brand or store brand. I'm looking to stick with more or less what the original coolant type is, so I'm not looking to switch over to the "ice" stuff, or whatever that's called.
I think I'm just having a hard time understanding which brands can and can't be used in an aluminum engine. So specific brand names would be awesome!
I'm not sure if it matters or not, but I'm running an '07 klx.

Old 10-11-2012, 01:08 AM
TNC
1st Gear Member

Probably nearly anything of modern off-the-shelf variety will work just fine in the KLX, but Kawasaki recommends a glycol based coolant if I remember correctly. You've asked a question that can cause more ire than an oil thread, so get ready.

Glycol based coolant is basically the old school stuff like the Prestone yellow stuff that was about the only thing worth talking about in the "old days". I still use the glycol based stuff, but I'm not afraid to use just about any brand, even the good WalMart stuff. Coolant got stupid expensive, and WalMart doesn't make its coolant...probably contracted it through Prestone.

I won't use that approved "green" stuff that won't kill pets if they drink it. I want my coolant to have all the glycol and good additives to work the very best, not to try and save Fido if he's dumb enough to drink it.