concerned about crank case pressure

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2010, 02:49 PM
1st Gear Member
Default concerned about crank case pressure

I am not a techie on engines but i recently had to repair multiple oil leaks due to the side effects of a pinched crank case breather pipe. Now that everything is repaired, there is quite alot of huffing and puffing coming out from the breather pipe. Is that normal? Its almost like putting your hand a few cm behind the exhaust pipe while the bike is idling. I also tried removing the oil cap while the bike is running and once again quite alot of serious huff and puff. i have no idea if this is normal or not and just wondering if anyone here has any links to general crank case pressure theories on the net that i can learn about. Thanks

Old 06-22-2010, 03:37 PM
Da dirty moderator
1st Gear Member

I dont know how mechanically inclined you are... but think about it, oil is at the bottom of the crankcase, then there is a big air void between the oil and the bottom of the piston. When the piston moves up and down it has to suck in air when going up and push air out when going down. Like when your trying to get gas out of a gas can, if you dont have the vent open it doesnt come out too easily, the air has to displace the gas. Same thing in the crankcase, the piston is going up and down sucking air in the combustion chamber so it has the same effect on the bottom side. It will suck and blow alot... Its normal.

Old 06-22-2010, 04:45 PM
1st Gear Member

Of course you'll get a net "blow" due to ring blow by on even new engines. The suck is very minor and likely not noticed. It will feel more like a pulsing blow which is why I am not a fan of putting a filter on the end of the breather hose. Many OEMs just dead end the crank breather into the atmosphere.

Old 06-22-2010, 05:06 PM
Da dirty moderator
1st Gear Member

I put a PCV valve in my crankcase breather...

Old 06-22-2010, 05:13 PM
1st Gear Member