Carb is leaking...

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2011, 01:42 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Carb is leaking...

'09 KLX250sf. I will preface with the fact that I am no mechanic.

Bike ran out of gas last week long before it really should have based on miles and when I last filled up. Attributed it to being new and breaking it in. Rode it to work this morning and at a stoplight close to the office smell gas. Look down and see that the nipple on the very bottom of the carb is just dripping away. Nothing connected to this nipple. Pull in to the office parking lot, shut off the fuel and it of course stops.

Sure looks like a tube belongs on this nipple on the bottom of the carb but don't see any tubes nearby that are not already connected to something.

Any help greatly appreciated, thanks!

Old 03-01-2011, 01:56 PM
Da dirty moderator
1st Gear Member

That sounds like the carb bowl drain, there is a allen head bolt on mine that is probably loose. and there should be a tube on it so it dumps out under the bike.

Old 03-01-2011, 03:15 PM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by EMS_0525
That sounds like the carb bowl drain, there is a allen head bolt on mine that is probably loose. and there should be a tube on it so it dumps out under the bike.
x2.

If it is a little allen head bolt that has a spring between the carb and head bolt it is most definetly the drain for the carb bowl. I usually drain mine out when I leave it sit over winter. There should be a little black tube that is routed with the rest of the carb vent/tank vents right near the rear shock. Sounds like you may have lost your tube!

Old 03-01-2011, 03:16 PM
1st Gear Member

Here is a pic. The allen screw is there and is not loose. When running the leak is not a slow drip but a fast drip, kind of like a coffee maker. It drips a lot on the engine case and puddles on the ground. I should add that I started with a full tank this morning and after only about 12 miles was down to almost half a tank.