Bike Shuttin Off Question???

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2011, 01:02 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Bike Shuttin Off Question???

Ok, so Tue. eve. I head up in the mountain, the dirt road has a hair pin turn and gets very steep. I take the turn in 2nd gear and really get on it.... to about 8000 rpm and I shift to 3rd. Once I hit 3rd the bike starts to sputter and eventually shuts off???

This happened to me once last year in a very similar situation on a stretch of paved road. Again, I took a turn in 2nd and ran the rpm's up to accomodate the shift to 3rd without loosing power. Again the bike shut off.

Now here's the really weird part (mind you I'm far from a mechanic) The bike will restart when choked and will run with the choke wide open. When I shut the choke the bike will continue to idle but once I hit the trottle it shuts off.

When this happened last year I had a friend pick me up that wasn't to far away and haul the bike home for me. I messed around with the carb for two days figuring this is where the problem was. Eventually it if just started and ran fine like there was never a problem.

However this time I'm in the middle of the mountains, no cell service and dark is approaching really fast. After I checked for loose connections (didn't know what else to do) I finally got pissed of and found a 2 ft. long stick and proceeded to beat and poke the hell out of the carb like an idiot. Low and behold the bike started and ran normal after that????

So.... Did the guy that rejetted for me leave a metal shaving or could there be something wrong with the float??? Any ideas would be much appreciated.

Thanks, bootmud!

Old 04-07-2011, 01:09 PM
1st Gear Member

lot of potential problems: Float level not correct. Inadequate fuel flow (filter clogged, petcock faulty, tank vent line kinked/plugged, carb vent line kinked/plugged.