Bike Running Poorly - Need Advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2011, 07:21 PM
1st Gear Member
Question Bike Running Poorly - Need Advice

I took the long way home from work yesterday. It was a beautiful day. All of a sudden the bike started to run roughly. I pulled off to the side of the road. I could get the bike to start, but it wouldn't stay running smoothly. I pulled the choke out and had the same issue. I knew that I wasn't low on fuel, but I checked anyway and it was ok. The same thing happened when I turned the petcock to reserve.

Within the minute or two that this took, a guy stopped and offered to throw the bike in the back of his truck and get me home. Sure nice when things work out like that.

I got it home and started to look into it. I am not a mechanic or anything so I was only looking for obvious things such as pinched hoses or anything loose. Everything looked fine.

I have drained the tank and refilled with fresh gas. Still have the same issue. What I did notice though was that if I leaned the bike to the right, I could get it to stall. When I did this there was also gas coming out of the carburetor drain hose. This doesn't occur if I lean the bike to the left.

The bike is a 2009 and I have done some of the normal mods: rejetted, kouba screw, FMF exhaust and drilled out the starter jet to .018. I have only put 50-100 miles on the bike since drilling out the starter jet.

Questions:

1) Is it possible that there is a piece of metal in the carburetor from when I drilled out the jet? If so, is this something I could get to by taking the carburetor apart?

2) I have read posts about the float sticking. Does that sound like my issue?

3) Should I be looking for anything else?

I am too new to know of any other questions to ask at this point. Any advice that can be sent my way would be appreciated. I do have the service manual and I am not afraid of learning the hard way. Thanks.