Any ideas for a better Seat?

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2010, 03:25 AM
1st Gear Member
Default Any ideas for a better Seat?

I know I probably just need to ride more and toughen up but this seat is a real pain in the rear. I'd hate to have to pony up for an exspensive aftermarket seat but I'm nearly to that point.
Has anyone came up with a solution?
I've thought about sewing up some nylon cloth with stiff foam inserts to widen the seat then I saw the sweet cheeks product. My idea was similar only with the stiff foam wedges instead of bottles.
I know a lot of folks use the ATV seat covers. I'm just hoping to find something else.
Thanks

Old 09-01-2010, 03:51 AM
1st Gear Member

I hear you, friendo! If I'm sitting on the bike for more than 1/5 hour straight than my buns start to burn a little. I am really new to this bike so maybe I too just need to man up and get used to it. The thing is, this is the only part that I don't enjoy about riding. It would be 150% better if my glutes would stay glad!

Old 09-01-2010, 05:09 AM
1st Gear Member

It is a wee bit narrow....curious to hear alternatives!

Old 09-01-2010, 05:18 AM
1st Gear Member

Stand up more.

Old 09-01-2010, 09:07 AM
1st Gear Member

Getting your weight into the pegs does give you a lot better traction and control.

What I'd like is the same seat just a little thicker and have gel inside instead of foam. This isn't something I'm going to cruise down the interstate with. I did a few 100 mile days with it out west this year and it wasn't as bad as I thought it would be, but it was still plenty bad.

Old 09-01-2010, 01:30 PM

I have the same problem-see my low cost seat mod on page two, it was meant as a joke, but the pain sure ain't.