Another way to skin a carb

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2011, 05:57 PM
1st Gear Member
Default Another way to skin a carb

Having work 32 years as a Ford tech I have learned there many ways to approach a problem so presented with the task of drilling out the idle mixture plug and starter jet I set out to find a easier way to access the carb. I removed the screw holding the cable bracket to the carb body ( make sure to use red Loc-Tite when reinstalling this screw ). Next I loosened the 2 carb clamps at intake and air box. Remove host on the front top of carb and turn the idle speed screw in 3 turns. now spin the carb 1/4 turn counter clockwise and the bottom of the carb is now easy to access without the hassle of removing it. Total time to get the carb bowl off and drill out the plug was under 10 minutes.

Attached Thumbnails Another way to skin a carb-klx1.jpg   Another way to skin a carb-klx3.jpg   Another way to skin a carb-klx4.jpg  
Old 02-06-2011, 08:23 PM
1st Gear Member

Smart thinking and great job, but it's been done Glad you posted it because maybe it hasn't been mentioned on here in a while. I learned it a while back from someone on here who had figured it out. One of the other tips (I forget who posted it ) was to replace the bowl screws with Allen head screws. This will make it easier to get the fastener loose without camming out the head, as is easy with a Phillips head. With the Allen heads you can loosen them, even if you don't have a straight shot, with ball head Allen wrenches. I even replaced the phillips screw that holds the throttle cable bracket on the side of the carb, with an Allen head just to keep from stripping the head out.
Dan

Name:  IMG_8321.jpg
Views: 32
Size:  55.0 KB

Old 02-07-2011, 02:00 AM
1st Gear Member

Anyone know the size of the screws so I can have some ready?

Old 02-07-2011, 02:50 AM
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by brownie2
anyone know the size of the screws so i can have some ready?
m4 x 15?