2023 KLX 300 Help guide me to uncork this bike.

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2023, 07:08 PM
Default 2023 KLX 300 Help guide me to uncork this bike.

I have a brand new 2022 KLR 300 and I need guidance to best uncork and get the best performance. What slip on would you recommend and do I need to remap the software and open the air box? Any links you could share would also help. I have never done this, so you got a newbie here. Big thanks in advance for your help.

Old 04-02-2023, 07:40 PM
1st Gear Member

There will be other opinions in this thread that run contrary to mine, but this is my perspective.

These bikes are not quick. They are not quick in stock form, and they are less slow but still not quick when modded. Careful about how much money you could sink into this thing to still end up with an objectively slow bike.

Best bang for your buck is swapping the stock front sprocket for one that's one tooth smaller. This will noticeably improve acceleration and only costs about $25 if you can do it yourself or have a friend help. Even the labor having it done at a shop would still make it a good value, most likely, although I don't know what labor rates are like in your area. Sunstar is the go-to brand.

Slip-on will sound cool and but won't make a real performance impact.

You can find threads on this forum about dyno tuning and gaining a couple (literally, a couple) horsepower through re-mapping, but honestly, spending the money on dyno tuning a bike that only makes 20-something horsepower is a waste in my opinion. Like I said, others will disagree.

What else have you owned/ridden?

Last edited by greychinos; 04-02-2023 at 07:44 PM.
Old 04-04-2023, 11:09 AM
1st Gear Member