2006 KLX Brake light help

Search this Thread

Old 06-19-2012, 11:19 PM
Default 2006 KLX Brake light help

I just picked up my first motorcycle in a 2006 KLX250s. I went down to my local DMV to get licensed for it (after riding on it for a month without one haha). During the driving test the DMV had to stop the test because my bike wasn't "street legal". So I asked them and they said that my brake light is always on and cannot continue with the test until I get it fixed. Does anyone have any ideas why its on even though I am not braking? I am no mechanic so after an internet search not finding anything I decided I better post something.

Thanks for your help!

Old 06-20-2012, 12:03 AM
TNC
1st Gear Member

One of your brake light switches is stuck. Usually on a setup like ours it's the rear brake pedal switch that's connected to that spring. That rear brake switch is a plunger style switch. Unhook the spring by hand or with needle nose pliers and work the switch rod in and out with the key on to see if the light goes out. Sometimes due to the location of this switch, it gets crudded up with mud and such. If you find the switch causes the light to go on and off, then you just need to make sure the switch is adjusted properly to the brake pedal. You'll see a nut that you move up and down the switch body to change how aggressively the pedal pulls the switch on. Once you tinker with this switch by pulling it by hand, you'll get the gist of how this thing works.

Now, you might have a front brake switch issue too, or instead, but this switch usually works or it doesn't work. It's not adjustable. It has a simple pin that the lever pushes and releases. Look up under the brake lever housing and you'll get the idea. Now, I have seen an impact to a lever cause it to sit closer to the switch and hold the switch on all the time. When you see how simple it is, you'll see how it works.