1982 klx 250

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2008, 04:13 PM
Default 1982 klx 250

ok so i just got given this real old klx 250 from 1982. heres a pic

It hadnt been ran for about 10 years but when it was used years ago it ran fine. When i got it i cleaned everything and took apart the carb and cleaned that thouroulgy. Now it runs but ticks over very strangley. It either ticks over really slow and u need to keep revving it otherwise it dies or it speeds up for no reason by itself and sounds really bad. ive messed with the mixture screw ting and the carb settings but i cant solve theproblem. also when riding if you open the throttle up it lacks power, you have to back off then build up the revs slowly to get some decent power out of it. any help would be appriciated or any advice of how to get it running right. Im new to motorbikes so help would be greatly appreciated. thanks alot.

Old 03-23-2008, 04:18 PM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: 1982 klx 250

Wow, thats a sweet score. Reminds me a lot of the '87 tt225 I picked up for next to nothing!

Name:  6.jpg
Views: 1047
Size:  74.8 KB

Old 03-23-2008, 04:55 PM
1st Gear Member

the one thing you might want to check is the Carb intake boot I would bet it leaking just start it and spray some carb cleaner in the area if the idle goes up you have leaks.....I would guess it might also need a good tune up valves and cam chain for sure that would be a good start and do a compression check first ......Good Luck

Old 03-23-2008, 05:58 PM
1st Gear Member

you also might want to check and see if theres any world-warI spirits haunting the engine. you might want to invest in a witchdoctor[8D]

Old 03-24-2008, 08:08 PM