09 Kawasaki KLX250S - Day One

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2010, 12:54 AM
1st Gear Member
Default 09 Kawasaki KLX250S - Day One

Bought a brand new leftover 09 Kawasaki KLX250s today, and went for a ride as soon as I got it home. I cant say enough about this bike, its a ton of fun, I am a beginner, and it was still easy to handle and not imtemidating at all, just a blast to ride. I rode about 31 miles, and would have rode at least another 30+ miles..... but I got a damn flat tire!!!! I was pissed. It looked like an industrial stable of some sort, in the front tire. Luckily I didnt loose control and got pulled off the road safely. Cant wait to ride it again!

I really love the bike, I was worried it would be too underpowered, after reading a few comments on that. But Its not really, Could it use more power? Sure, and its easy to get with a few mods, plus I can do a big bore kit later.
I have read that just an intake, exhaust, and rejet does wonders for it, I will do that soon.
I wasnt riding like a mad man, but I never felt like I NEEDED more power. I was zipping around back roads, usually a bit over the speed limit, with ease.
I got it up to about 67 mph, going up a fairly steep highway road, and it held it in 5th gear like it was nothing.

Here is a trip log of the days ride.
http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=873011

Old 11-04-2010, 01:03 AM
1st Gear Member

Great first post! Too bad about the flat, glad you got it safely stopped. That everytrail site is really cool. If your a beginner, I'd just ride the bike like it is. As you said, you've got all the power you need right now. No need to overdo anything.
Congrats on the new bike!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Have fun
Dan

Old 11-04-2010, 02:44 AM
1st Gear Member

If you're happy with it now, you'll love it with all the typical mods (see my sig).

Welcome, and congrats on the new bike!

Old 11-04-2010, 02:59 AM
1st Gear Member

At least you got your first flat tire out of the way!

Old 11-04-2010, 03:14 AM