'06 KLX250S What Upgrades to Make?

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2012, 01:30 PM
1st Gear Member
Default '06 KLX250S What Upgrades to Make?

Picked up a 2006 KLX250S a while back, mostly for off road use, but I like the idea of being street legal to get to the trails and gas stations. I don't have much experience on dirt, or around dirt bikes, so I'm learning on the fly here. I've been pounding the pavement for about 6 years. I plan on riding snowmobile/atv trails and single track. Most of the terrain around here is hard pack and rocky. First order of business is a knobby rear tire. Some local hardcores recommended changing that, and told me my front is ok for what I want to do. As far as I can tell, the bike is bone stock. Any recommendations as to what I should add to, or change on the bike?

Where can I find after market plastics? I think changing them out might be a good idea, before I destroy the factory stuff.

Last edited by Rooster; 07-05-2012 at 01:35 PM.
Old 07-05-2012, 01:52 PM
Da dirty moderator
1st Gear Member

No aftermarket plastics available. OEM.

Having an '06. I would get correct springs for your weight, if you are over 150lbs. Then rejet, exhaust, and open up the air box all at once. There are tons of other things. But if i were to do it over thats what i would do.

Old 07-05-2012, 02:01 PM
1st Gear Member

EMS said it well.

Don't be surprised if you use it more onroad than you're planning. I got mine for home-trail-connect-home again but I've barely ridden my Suzuki Bandit 1250 since getting the KLX. Didn't count on that.

Old 07-05-2012, 02:50 PM
1st Gear Member

The mods EMS05_25 mentioned are the typical ones and likely you will reap the most benefit from.

Some people go to the extent of going with a big bore kit to get more power.

Personally I say just ride it the rest of the season. Get to know it. Next year make the changes you decide you need.