General Tech Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.

Rough shifting

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 02:19 PM
Default Rough shifting

Please be gentle with your comments, I'm VERy new at mechanical stuff. Got a 2006 Ninja 250. only 2600 miles on it. Second day, hit the front brake to hard and ended up in the ditch... So I don't remember what the shifting was like on day one.Current Problem: After the bike is warmed up and I shift to first it really jerks hard. And when I'm riding (I do shift up and down at the right RPM) there is a loud clunking noise in the lower gears. I have looked around on the forums and I'm a little at a loss as to what to look at. After the ditch riding incident, my rear tire was out of line so I'm wondering if maybe I got the chain to tight or is it maybe time for a better oil? (I read that sometimes the better oil will help smooth shifting.)

I did go ahead and buy the full synthetic oil to change, because it is about time, but I have read and read and RE READ that stupid manuel and I can't seem to grasp the "HOW TO CHECK CHAIN SLACK" section.... Could someone explain it to me in STUPID WOMAN LANGUAGE?

Old 05-08-2008, 08:35 AM
1st Gear Member
Default RE: Rough shifting

lol.. first off, welcome to KF and bikes in general!!

your shifting sounds pretty normal, actually.. the clunking comes from 12 gears roating at a common speed.... then, when you select first (from neutral) you instantly stop all those gears from spinning..

they're gonna turn regardless of the clutch being pulled in or not.. it's clutch drag, and theres nothing you can do.. BUT, it is not detrimental.. very normal.

stupid womanlanguage..lol.. Hmm... how to be fair and accurate with THIS!!?!!???

well, you're looking for just a tiny bit of play on the chain.. too much will wear out the sprockets, and puts a high and stressful load on the berings in the transmission.